Virginia Tech® home

Shane Ross

  • NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2004-2006, University of Southern California
  • Ph.D., 2004, Control and Dynamical Systems, California Institute of Technology
  • B.S., 1998, Physics, California Institute of Technology
Shane Ross, Ph.D.
Aerospace & Ocean Engineering (MC0119)
320 Norris Hall
495 Old Turner St.
Blacksburg, VA 24061
  • Biomechanics
  • Dynamics and control
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Solid Mechanics

The Ross Dynamics Lab at Virginia Tech specializes in applications of nonlinear dynamics, performing mathematical modeling, simulation, visualization, and experiments with applications in several different fields, including:

  • Patterns of dispersal in oceanic and atmospheric flows
  • Passive and active aerodynamic gliding
  • Dynamic buckling of flexible structures
  • Transport across the air-water interface
  • Orbital mechanics
  • Chemical physics
  • Causality analysis in complex natural and artificial systems
  • 2017 Excellence in Research Award, Virginia Tech College of Engineering Dean’s Award 
  • 2017 Leader in Research Award, Virginia Tech Dept. of Biomedical Engineering & Mechanics 
  • 2012 Liviu Librescu Prize, Dept. of Engineering Science and Mechanics 
  • 2012 Faculty Fellow, Virginia Tech College of Engineering Dean’s Award 
  • 2012 Certificate of Teaching Excellence, Virginia Tech College of Engineering 
  • 2012 NSF CAREER Award 
  • 2011 Plenary Speaker on Computational Methods in Dynamics at Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Trieste, Italy 
  • 2011 Keynote Speaker at Lorentz Centre Workshop on Coherent Structure and Dynamical Systems, Leiden, The Netherlands 
  • 2010 Outstanding New Assistant Professor, Virginia Tech College of Engineering Dean’s Award 
  • 2009 Invited Speaker at British Science Festival 
  • 2008 Invited Speaker at Zurich Physics Colloquium 
  • 2004 Everhart Lecture Series Award Winner 
  • 2003 NASA Space Act Award 
  • 2002 NASA Innovation Award 
  • 2001 Best Paper Award by AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference 
  • 1998 NASA Innovation Award