Virginia Tech®home


  • H. Pat Artis: Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • W. Nathan Alexander, Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Ella Atkins: Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics 
  • Jonathan Black: Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Alan Brown: Fellow of the Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME)
  • Robert Canfield
: Fellow of AIAA
  • William Devenport
: Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS)
  • Rakesh Kapania
: Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS)
  • K. Todd Lowe
: Associate Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • Eric Paterson
: Associate Fellow of AIAA; Fellow of SNAME
  • Michael Philen: Fellow of ASME; Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Mark Psiaki
: Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of the Institute of Navigation
  • Pradeep Raj
: Fellow of AIAA, Fellow of RAeS
  • Christopher Roy
: Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Joseph Schetz: Fellow of AIAA and RAeS; Life Fellow of ASME
  • Gary Seidel
: Fellow of ASME; Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Cornel Sultan
: Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Craig Woolsey
: Associate Fellow of AIAA
  • Mark Psiaki: Kevin Crofton Faculty Chair in Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
  • William Devenport: Crofton Professor in Engineering
  • Stefano Brizzolara: Crofton Faculty Fellow
  • Bhuvana Srinivasan: Crofton Faculty Fellow
  • Ella Atkins: Fred D. Durham Endowed Chair Professor
  • Alan Brown: NAVSEA Professor
  • Rakesh Kapania: Mitchell Professor of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering
  • Eric Paterson: Rolls Royce Commonwealth Professor of Marine Propulsion
  • Jonathan Black: Northrop Grumman Senior Faculty Fellow

J. Leland Atwood Award, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE)
Joseph Schetz (2004)

Aeroacoustic Award, AIAA
William Devenport (2019)

Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award, AIAA
Joseph Schetz (2016)

Air Breathing Propulsion Award, AIAA
Joseph Schetz (1997)

Intelligent Systems Award, AIAA
Ella Atkins (2022)

Harold E. Saunders Award, American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE)
Alan J. Brown (2021)

Johannes Kepler Award,  Institute of Navigation (ION)
Mark Psiaki (2021)

Mechanics and Control of Flight Award, AIAA
Mark Psiaki (2022)

Multidisciplinary Design Optimization Award, AIAA
Rakesh Kapania (2016)
Robert Canfield (2014)

Pendray Aerospace Literature Award, AIAA
Joseph Schetz (1997)

Sustained Service Award, AIAA
Robert Canfield (2007)
Joseph Schetz (2021)

Solberg Award, American Society of Naval Engineers (ASNE)
Alan Brown (2007)

Tycho Brahe Award, ION
Mark Psiaki (2013)

Burka Award, ION
Mark Psiaki (2005, 2022)

Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award, SAE International
Lin Ma (2015)
Craig Woolsey (2007)
K. Todd Lowe  (2018)

The Webb Medal, SNAME
Alan Brown (2015)
Eric Paterson (2021)

Dean's Award for Excellence in Research
K. Todd Lowe (2018)
Craig Woolsey (2017)
Lin Ma (2016)
Rakesh Kapania (2010, 2000)
Naira Hovakimyan (2008)
William Devenport (2007)
Joseph Wang (2006)
Joseph Schetz (2004)
Gene Cliff (1999)
Wayne Durham (1998)
Roger Simpson (1996)

Dean's Award for Excellence in Service
Joseph Schetz (2022)
Michael Philen (2020)
Gary Seidel (2016)
Wayne Neu (2010, 2002)
Alan Brown (2008)
Roger Simpson (2005)
Fred Lutze (2003)
Jim Marchman (1999)

Dean's Award for Excellence in Teaching
Kevin Shinpaugh (2022)
Aurelien Borgoltz, William Devenport, Nanyaporn Intaratep, Matthew Kuester and Máté (Matthew) Szőke (2021)
Scott England (2020)
Pradeep Raj (2016)
Craig Woolsey (2013)
Michael Philen (2011)
Eric Johnson (2003)
Christopher Hall (2001)
William Devenport (1997)

Outstanding New Assistant Professor
Bhuvana Srinivasan (2017)
Cornel Sultan (2011)
Michael Philen (2010)
Leigh McCue (2007)
Craig Woolsey (2003)

Faculty Fellow
Bhuvana Srinivasan (2019)
Cornel Sultan (2016)
Leigh McCue (2010)
Christopher Roy (2009)
Naira Hovakimyan (2006)
Craig Woolsey (2003)

W.S. “Pete” White Chair for Innovation in Engineering Education
William Devenport (2001)

Certificate for Teaching Excellence
Shane D. Ross (2022)

Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR) Young Investigator Research Program
Jonathan Black (2007)

Department of Energy Defense Programs Early Career Scientist and Engineer Award
Christopher Roy (2005)

Distinguished Alumni of Virginia Tech College of Engineering
H. Pat Artis (2008)

International Neural Network Society (INNS) Young Investigator Award
Kyriakos Vamvoudakis (2016)

National Science Foundation CAREER Award
Yao Fu (2021)
Christine Gilbert (2020)
Kyriakos Vamvoudakis (2018)
Kevin  G. Wang (2017)
Mazen Farhood (2014)
Craig Woolsey (2002)

Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Award
Yao Fu (2021)
Christine Gilbert (2015)
Craig Woolsey (2002)

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineer
Christopher Roy (2006)

Sporn Award for Teaching Introductory Subjects
H. Pat Artis (2017)

Virginia Space Grant Consortium (VSGC) Young Investigator Award
K. Todd Lowe

Virginia Tech Academy of Engineering Excellence
H. Pat Artis (2009)

VT Alumni Award for Excellence in Research
Joseph Schetz (1998)