28 members of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics were elected as Fellows for 2022 including Virginia Tech’s William Devenport. Devenport is the Crofton Professor in Engineering, in the Kevin T. Crofton Department of Aerospace and Ocean Engineering. 

“The Class of 2022 AIAA Honorary Fellows and Fellows are among the best minds in the aerospace profession. I commend each member of this year’s Class on their incredible accomplishments worthy of this recognition,” said Basil Hassan, AIAA President. “This distinguished set of individuals has earned the respect and gratitude of the aerospace community. We are in awe of their creativity and valued contributions to better understanding our universe.”

As the largest aerospace professional society in the world, AIAA fellows have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, and technology and fellowship is limited to one for every 125 associate fellows each year. The induction ceremony will be held in Washington D.C. at the Ronald Reagan Building on April 27, 2022. 

William Devenport joined the faculty in the department of aerospace and ocean engineering at Virginia Tech in 1989 and has built an extensive research program centered on experimental studies of aerodynamics and aeroacoustics. He is currently director of the Virginia Tech Stability Wind Tunnel and director of the Center for Renewable Energy and Aero-Hydrodynamic Technology (CREATe). He has published over 240 technical articles and is recognized for his contributions to the understanding of vortex dominated flows, roughness noise, leading edge noise, rotor noise and boundary layers as well as contributions to aeroacoustic facility design and instrumentation.

Devenport holds a bachelor of science in engineering science from Exeter University, and a Ph.D. in experimental and computational fluid dynamics from Cambridge University, both in Great Britain. Devenport has been an AIAA member since 1987 and was elected an Associate Fellow in 2005. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society.